IPB

ISO Image Creator | Cheap EQ2 gold - Buy EQ2 gold, EVE ISK, EQ Plat and more!

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Emails Sent from bfarber.com
bfarber
post Mar 5 2006, 09:25 AM
Post #1


Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 10,302
Joined: 9-February 03
From: Jacksonville, FL
Member No.: 1
 United States


If you received an email or two from bfarber.com today, please be aware we did NOT authorize those emails to be sent, and the links contained in the email link to a malicious site that tries to download an exe file.

Please do NOT click those links, and delete the emails immediately.

We are working to protect our members against the actions this user apparently took.

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer2eydevil88
post Mar 6 2006, 02:13 AM
Post #2


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-September 05
Member No.: 38,582
 United States


Yeah emails were sent to me but I use a mac.. and those pesky little windows executables don't do anything but take up space on my powerbook :-)

sorry to hear about the hijack... IPB can suck like that...

This post has been edited by jer2eydevil88: Mar 6 2006, 02:13 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stomper
post Mar 6 2006, 09:13 AM
Post #3


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-October 04
Member No.: 21,803
 United States


I just got that e-mails, telling to vote for some kind of header or something. But, I recieved your e-mail stating that someone has been doing bad things to this wonderful forum.

Man, some people need to get a life!

I hope that you got it sorted out soon!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sarahwho
post Mar 6 2006, 11:15 AM
Post #4


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-May 05
Member No.: 33,590
 United States


I got the email too, but "declined" the .exe downloadable - I figured it was something weird about that one for sure! But hey, I figured I'd come visit anyway, so it worked out well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cyber-russell
post Mar 6 2006, 06:22 PM
Post #5


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-September 04
From: UK
Member No.: 20,207
 United Kingdom


Sorry to hear about the attack. Really people do need to get a life, what was the point! Is it possible to get their IP address and do something about it?!

A note to all change your password on a regular basis, create a strong password (Microsoft's Strong password checklist)!

This post has been edited by cyber-russell: Mar 6 2006, 06:27 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zxpro168
post Mar 7 2006, 10:13 PM
Post #6


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 43
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 21,979
 Hong Kong


I am sure that it wasn't done for fun, it was done for money. The exe file probably contained a virus or spyware. It may be able to phlish passwords from your computer.

I am really sorry about this. If you happened to have opened this file, you must scan your computer for virus or spyware immediately. If you have any information about the malicious file, please post it here so that other affected members may know what to do.


-Derek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hof7784
post Mar 12 2006, 08:07 PM
Post #7


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 12-March 06
Member No.: 51,434
 Bahrain


realmad.gif wacko.gif hmm.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pepsi32
post Apr 3 2006, 05:27 PM
Post #8


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3-April 06
Member No.: 53,535
 Belgium


crying.gif sorry my email is wrong! the email here is right-michellebauer@hotmail.de ..not with 01
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
killerfragger
post Apr 12 2006, 01:01 AM
Post #9


Newbie
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 20-July 05
Member No.: 36,496
 Netherlands


wel i dont had won biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mflintjer
post Apr 13 2006, 12:43 AM
Post #10


Back; Down you Hooligans! :P
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 1,012
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Rochester, MN
Member No.: 23,596
 United States


QUOTE(bfarber @ Mar 5 2006, 08:25 AM)
If you received an email or two from bfarber.com today, please be aware we did NOT authorize those emails to be sent, and the links contained in the email link to a malicious site that tries to download an exe file.

Please do NOT click those links, and delete the emails immediately.

We are working to protect our members against the actions this user apparently took.

Thank you!
*

I can honestly say, that bfarber.com is always on the lookout for people that can't play by the rules. And I didn't receive any emails B -- I'll keep an eye out though thumbsup2.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th September 2008 - 11:31 PM

  Page top

Webber Enhanced skin created by Im4eversmart of RuneHQ.

  Webmasters     Cool Sites     Money Network     Privacy Policy